Stepping up to Improve Business.

During the eighth week of my internship, I realized how much I have stepped up at work and how much easier it is for me to take initiative to take on and complete various work orders. Tasks ranging from simply printing business cards and invitations, to setting up huge complicated files for print, figuring out how to fix complicated customer files correctly and getting to know all the aspects to wide format printing.

This week, along with the various design and print jobs, two major projects I have been working on were completed. This first was the paper sample books. These books, printed with the new Printing and Design mark (designed for our shop T-Shirt as well,) will be given out to all the departments who order from us. This will make it easier for them to order and know exactly what they want ahead of time, decreasing face-to-face customer time, as well as decreasing complications for work orders. The second project I was able to get finished was the wide format sample book. This project took a lot of time and effort and I ended up making three on-hand books to use in the shop to help not only the customers figure out what they want, but help my co-workers also understand what the shop can really do. The wide formatting is done in a separate part of the shop, so student workers hardly get to see what wide format options we offer. This will also help in making work orders. The book was made of each individual wide format paper, and I decided to apply grommets in each corner of each sample. I finally was able to clip the samples all together with a metal ring, making it easy for adjustment and to flip through.

Paper Sample Booklet and Wide Format Booklet

image2-2image1-3

Leave a comment